Drive on the Highway. Repeat.

30 Sep

Nothing says progress like crossing over the Mississippi. Today’s driving directions? “Drive west on I-80.” Now those are some directions that I can handle.  Unlike yesterday when I decided to be spontaneous and pull off the highway to check out The University of Illinois. As I was gawking and carrying on about how much I loved U of I and excitedly telling Ryan to take pictures of the gorgeous Alpha Chi house for me (which he didn’t get) and the even more gorgeous Kappa house for my friend Ashley (which he did get) – I was also driving through pedestrian crosswalks without thinking and almost running over students. “Pedestrians have the right of way! It’s a college campus, Sarah!” Ryan shouted. True. Did I mention that college students are getting younger? Good grief!  I felt every bit of my 29 years as I zipped around town in my minivan. By this time Abigail was screaming and Hank was about to pee his pants, if he were wearing pants. So, we decided to head back to a park we passed for a quick pit stop. Well, by the time I blew past the park for the second time and ended up in the middle of a detour, I was beginning to rethink my decision that it would be “fun” to be spontaneous because I looked back and thought Ryan’s head was going to spin off. Oops. After getting stuck behind what probably was the longest train in the world we finally made it to the park, had a lovely time, and were back on the road. It was a whopping 15 miles before Abigail started screaming bloody murder. I couldn’t blame the kid, she had been in the car for almost 9 hours and I kind of wanted to scream at the top of my lungs, but I know better. When the usual tricks didn’t work, funny faces, silly songs, a parade of toys, I did the thing I never thought I would do – took a big whiff of her diaper. Oh yes, it was a gold mine in there. Off we pulled once again. Our 8 hour journey to my sister’s house ended up being an eternity. So for all of you who thought we were insane for attempting this journey with Abigail and Hank, you were right. But we’re making it. One mile at a time. Besides, it was all worth it when we pulled into Galesburg and got to see Jane, Dimitri, and Eileen. AND, I really did love the University of Illinois.

3 Responses to “Drive on the Highway. Repeat.”

  1. Sue September 30, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    Sorry that you got in near trouble in my adopted home town. Yeah, you have to watch for the students and yes, the trains full of corn and soybeans can be quite long!
    I am so happy that you detoured through Champaign and I hope Ryan forgives you. 🙂
    It is a beautiful campus though. Did you know that the U of I has the largest greek system in the US.

  2. Mom September 30, 2010 at 10:53 pm #

    Yay for spontaneity! That is sometimes the best memory maker. And I’m thinking you are racking up some memories as you navigate your way across the United States. I’m enjoying guessing how long it will take you to get from spot to spot while managing a small baby and a big dog! The push pins in the map at work are plotting your course. (And I don’t think anyone will mind the teeny holes that will be left once you arrive.)

  3. Emily October 1, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    At least you are building the stability of your US map of places you’ve been…mitch would be proud 🙂 endless stories to come! love you guys 🙂

Leave a Reply

