Why Wyoming?

1 Oct

I have been waiting for the drive through Wyoming ever since we flew over it going to visit Oregon. Let me just say that it does not disappoint. The pieces that make up America fit together so perfectly. It is hard to put into words how mesmerizing it is to see the landscape change as you cross the country. If you have done this journey, I hope I am doing it justice. If you haven’t taken the trip, I highly recommend it. It is truly the only way to gain an appreciation for how beautiful the United States is. Cue “America the Beautiful.” Actually, I did break out into a little rendition before Ryan cut me off. He is very used to my random outbursts into songs, but you know, the car isn’t getting any bigger after 1700ish miles together. Ha! But seriously, this state is so awesome. We had several people warn us not to let our gas tank get too close to empty because of how deserted some parts of the state are. I haven’t ever seen anything like this. Miles and miles of unspoiled, natural land composed of hills, the Rocky mountains, plateaus, and even some wild horses. It does get tedious after awhile when things seem so barren, but being used to the stress of driving on the East Coast it is a welcome change. As the states open up and things are more spread out, so too changes the mindset. I met a man working in a gas station today. I was asking him about the enormous deer heads he had hanging up. He was born in New York and also lived in Oregon. He told me that life is 100% different out west, that I would love it, and that I should take up hunting. And while I probably won’t take up hunting, I know that he was absolutely right about the first two.

6 Responses to “Why Wyoming?”

  1. Sue October 2, 2010 at 8:17 am #

    It is hard to take pictures to capture the beauty and magnitude! It is sad that some people never venture outside of VA and North Carolina to see God’s wonders. I am in awe and know there is a God every time I see them!

  2. Kelly October 2, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    You never know….I could see you in camouflage! Glad you guys are enjoying your trip out! LOVE love love your blog! MISS miss miss you!

  3. KathyMagnusson October 2, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    Sarah you are doing justice to America the Beautiful. I am seeing my country through your eyes. Thank you!

  4. Kate Sak October 2, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    It’s true! Don’t get your gas tank too close to “E!” We were on “0 miles until empty” for several miles…at 2am…until we found an open gas station. Slightly stressful at the time but thankfully we didn’t have to call AAA to pick us up. Enjoy the state, it’s beautiful!!

  5. Carole Calle October 2, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    Oh, Sarah, I felt the same crossing the desert from San Antonio, Texas to Cathedral City, California. Words can never really express how beautiful our country is and photos don’t do it justice. I’ll always remember our trip across the country. It’s wonderful to see the northern route through your eyes. Thank you.

  6. Jen October 2, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    I only wish I could retake this trip with the boys! I have driven across the country and back 9yrs later. I, too, thought the drive from the west was terrific…until you hit Tennessee and that was the end of the fun. Crazy traffic, crazy drivers and winding and terrifying roads. I will take driving west ANY DAY! You certainly are doing it justice. Write on!

Leave a Reply

