Ease on Down the Road

3 Oct

I am seeing things that are so incredible that I can’t help but want to share it with the people that are not here with me. That is human nature I think, to capture and bottle up the moments that are precious to us. The human eye is an incredible lens, far superior to anything we can make. You can have the best camera equipment in world, and you will never be able to capture the beauty you experience in that single moment that takes your breath away. That would be my experience in Utah. Winding through the Wasatch Mountains on the way to Salt Lake City one must lean over and look up out of the window to see the peaks. There is more vegetation than we saw in southern Wyoming, but far less than the green that covers the Appalachians. This allows for a spectacular view of the many dimensions both smooth and craggy of each mountain. When you drive through places like this you get a perfect glimpse of what life was like before shopping malls, subdivisions, and stoplights. After rolling past the mountains of Utah and The Great Salt Lake we were on to Idaho. It may have been the fact that Abigail screamed through most of it and we didn’t end up eating lunch until 3:30, but I was getting restless. By this point we still had about an hour left of Idaho so I tried to make the best out of the seemingly endless farms and onion trucks. Where were all those potatoes? I have never been happier to see an Oregon license plate. A feeling of commraderie overcame me at that moment, and I felt that I was almost home. It has happened to me before when driving home from a long weekend and I finally start to see cars from Virginia. It meant I was almost home. Home. Calling Oregon our home is something that I am still quite uncomfortable with, but this trip has been helping to change that. Had I just flown to Oregon with Abigail on my lap it would have been like ripping a bandaid off. Almost cruel. Now I have had time to process and appreciate the reality that life can be wonderful everywhere. And when we crossed the state line and saw the beautiful Blue Mountains as barren as sand dunes stretching wide into the desert I knew what a fantastic adventure awaited us in this new “home.”

5 Responses to “Ease on Down the Road”

  1. Kelly October 3, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    Am so glad you’re sharing your experiences/viewpoints! Love your blog!

  2. Heather Cavaliere October 3, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    welp…tears involved. maybe you should have title the blog “warning: trail of tears ahead”.

    love you friend. you are beautiful inside and out.

  3. KathyMagnusson October 3, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

    Sarah…. I marvel at how my little girl with gum on her shoe has grown into a beautiful young woman. What a blessing you are and will continue to be to not only Ryan, Abigail but your new Oregon friends. I had a dear friend move west about 10 years ago….hard as it was she too left to go west with her husband’s job….Their family grew in many ways of whcih the most important was strength of their family bond. Even though I don’t see her much I can still pick up the phone to talk to her and it is if we don’t have any distance at all. What a blessing this dirve has been for me to see the country through your beautiful eyes. We send our love and hugs! Kathy, Mike and Elizabeth

  4. KathyMagnusson October 3, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    Are you almost home?

  5. Soul Biscuit December 1, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    Wow, reading all these at once (an two months late, mind you) is like when you find a new series late, and you’re “forced” to buy the box set. It’s a shame I wasn’t reading these in real time and taking this journey with you guys…

Leave a Reply

