Merry Christmas

23 Dec

When I told Hank to go lay down I didn’t mean right on top of the freshly mopped and still wet floor. I almost made him move but I stopped myself. He just wanted to be with me, his family. I knew the feeling. I have not been to a single Christmas party or baked one Christmas cookie and Christmas Eve is right around the corner. Two moves in about as many months has not been easy. But as I stood there grateful to be at a point where mopping the floor was possible I thought of the Christmas story. The real one, not the “you’ll shoot your eye out” one. Mary and Joseph were on a journey to a place where it seemed there wasn’t much room for them. When hope was almost lost, an opportunity presented itself. And while it might not have happened the way they imagined, it was a beautiful moment all the same. That’s the real spirit of Christmas. It’s not about the perfect picture that Norman Rockwell painted for us, but about the fact that ordinary things – in this case a baby – can bring about miraculous changes. We’ve been lucky to have some pretty amazing things happen to us this year. And that’s something worth celebrating, cardboard boxes and all. Merry Christmas.

4 Responses to “Merry Christmas”

  1. Sue December 23, 2010 at 7:23 pm #

    Merry Christmas to you Sarah, Ryan, and Abigail! Love ya! I know you are happy to be in a bigger home. Hope you got to finally put your mattress and box springs on a real bed frame.

  2. amy December 23, 2010 at 10:51 pm #

    So good to be reminded about the real reason we have this season. Budget cuts have made this one harder than others but I constantly remind myself of why I am doing what I am doing. My children are healthy, I have a loving husband and I have a Saviour that came so I can be free. Merry Christmas my friend and may you be blessed in 2011!!!

  3. Carole December 24, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    And Merry Christmas to you, as well, my dear. We all have much to be thankful for, and sometimes our good fortune comes unexpectedly and is often unappreciated until the light shines in from a different window. May the New Year bring you much joy. I love you.

  4. Joy December 27, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

    Merry Christmas to your sweet family! AND Merry Christmas to me! I was over the moon when I opened up my plane ticket to OR that Declan gave me! Can’t wait to spend time with you, Ryan, Abigail and Hank in February!!!

Leave a Reply

