A Lighthouse

2 Feb

I love to vaccuum. Ryan and I decided to get our Newfoundland, Hank, just for the reason that I have a vaccuuming addiction. When we heard Newfs shed a lot we thought, perfect. Hank could shed and I could vaccuum. It was a match made in heaven.

Hank is my first dog. Ever. I like to tell people that I waited 28 years for a dog, so I needed a really big one to make up for all of my dogless days. (10,219 to be exact.) I got Hank the day before I turned 28. He was instantly a pefect fit into our family. He was big and messy and boundy and wonderful. He also became my favorite walking partner.

When we first started walking together. I took the lead. He was nervous to walk too far from home and we spent most of our days walking back and forth in front of our house. He grew more confident, my belly grew rounder, and on and on we walked. We were walking fools. There was something so theraputic about walking with Hank. He always fit into my schedule and I didn’t have to talk about anything. We just were.

A few short and a few long months later Abigail had arrived. Spring came and melted into summer. And while I’m sure that Hank sometimes wondered why it took so blooming long to get out the door, the three of us continued to walk. Until Hank got too hot and then we moved to Newport.

Walking in Newport wasn’t always easy. (See my previous post.) But we tried our best until the rainy season had other plans for us.

We were getting doused in rain, over 7 inches in one weekend kind of rain, and right before I changed my address to: Houseboat, Newport, OR 97365 the sun started shining. It wasn’t easy to peel off my rainboots and exchange them for running shoes, but eventually I loaded everyone up and headed out to try a new running/walking path I had heard about. It was a two mile loop up to the Yaquina Head Lighthouse and back and it took my breath away. Well, maybe it was the hill coming back that did that, but it was gorgeous. A windy road hugging a cliff leads to a quaint lighthouse with views for miles. Abigail and I ran it first, then came back to pick up Hank to walk the same path.

Since then we’ve been out there every chance we get. Sometimes we even stop to watch the surfers floating in the waves. And everytime I look from the Pacific back to the two little pink sneakers sticking out from the stroller and the four black furry bear paws beside me I think of how lucky I am to have found not four, but six perfect feet for walking with me. Wherever we go.

4 Responses to “A Lighthouse”

  1. Kelly February 2, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    Okay- Now you made me cry again! Love and miss you all- w/ and w/o paws!

  2. amy February 3, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Blessings are always around us! They take on so many different forms but they are there just waiting for us to notice them!!

  3. Aliceon February 3, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    Sarah–I felt like I was walking with you! Wonderful writing! I loved it!

  4. Becky Williams February 5, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    Wow–I can picture myself in Oregan… of course I would be walking with you not running!

Leave a Reply

