Unexpected Blessings

30 Jun

About 6 months ago I did something so out of character for myself that I am still surprised I even did it at all. I went up to a complete stranger at story time and asked her how old her daughter was. We chatted for a bit and went our separate ways. If you’ve never had to make a friend from a complete stranger let me just tell you — it feels a whole lot like a first date. It’s not the most comfortable situation, so I was totally embarassed when after she told me her name was Asia I said, “Like the continent?” Yep, I said that. Out loud. But despite that we exchanged numbers and decided to meet at the aquarium a few days later. We’ve been aquarium junkies and fast friends ever since. And so have our daughters.

And I’m so thankful that I found her because I might just be drifting into insanity without her. It kind of seems glamorous from the ouside looking in — the whole concept of a stay at home mom. Always having time for things like taking a shower before you head out for your daily errands at 9, a clean house where laundry never piles up, and putting your feet up to watch Kathie Lee and Hoda with a hot cup of chai.  (Okay, maybe I do make time for that last one…)

So it’s good to have a friend where it’s okay if you are wearing the same outfit you wore when you saw her the day before. Someone who doesn’t mind wiping off a little dog drool every now and then. The kind of friend who will spontaneously go with you to see if “Mamaconda” has had her babies at the aquarium. But most importantly someone with a really good texting package that allows you to send hundreds of texts a day about how excited you were that your daughter licked a carrot instead of just eating string cheese for the last 5 days.

I love that Abigail now has a friend too. Someone who helps her learn to share a favorite chair or loans her a pair of pajamas so we can stay after dinner and play just a little longer. A friend who always brings extra strawberries because she knows you’ll want some too. And someone who gives great hugs, even if they are sometimes a little too big.

Because when you have friends like that they aren’t just friends.  They’re family.

6 Responses to “Unexpected Blessings”

  1. Kay Kominic June 30, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    It’s a whole different world than working, isn’t it. Most of it great, but sometimes lonely. We moved to VA from PA when Kenny was 3. Developing a whole new social world when miles from family and old friends while caring for a child 24/7 is a challenge.

    • Sarah June 30, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

      It really is. I miss teaching, but it will always be there when I’m ready to go back. I miss our conversations, too!

  2. Kay Kominic June 30, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    Miss sharing conversations about teaching and books we have both read. Enjoy seeing what you are reading thru Goodreads. K

  3. Asia June 30, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    Oh my gosh!! You have got to be kidding me! So many tears right now!! I’d like to add “Someone who will drop everything to come over for dinner because it means not having to cook and knowing that the favor will be returned!” You saved me and I am so thankful to have you (and my text message plan) in my life!!

  4. KathyMagnusson July 2, 2011 at 6:20 am #

    So sweet. I remember when I was not working and thought I could get it all done too! Making the new friend for myself and Elizabeth was a priceless time! PS my laundry is still not folded everyday! Memaw came to stay with Elizabeth last night so we cold play cards with frineds and she folded the laundry!

  5. Heather Cavaliere July 4, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    you are just the sweetest. miss you so much and love that you found asia! 🙂

Leave a Reply

