Breakfast on the Run

14 Jul

Looking closely at the word mother you will find “other” is the biggest chunk. Look a little closer and you will see the letters to spell “me”, but they are far apart almost not making it in the word at all. I’m glad they did. Being a mother does mean putting others before yourself, but it does not mean losing yourself completely.

I run 3 days a week. Ryan is super supportive of my running because he knows how much it means to me. With the summer weather and extended daylight I’ve had the luxury of being able to go out in the evenings alone. It’s a little chunk of me time, but not always. Some days Ryan has to work late or we have something fun to do in the evening, so I have to take Abigail.

It’s a challenge to juggle Abigail’s schedule and still make time for a run. When I know ahead of time that I’ve got to run as a “we” I pack Abigail’s breakfast to go.

There aren’t many places to do a long run in Newport that are safe to take a baby and/or are not hilly. I’m all for running some hills, it reminds me of Lynchburg, but my IT Band has been saying otherwise lately so I’ve been trying to stick to my favorite “fast, flat, and safe” route.

When I first moved here I spent a lot of time feeling pretty negative about the weather and how hard it is to exercise with the baby and blah blah. And when it gets to be December and the wind is gusting over 40 mph and it hasn’t stopped raining sideways in 10 days I’m sure I’ll be right back to feeling sorry for myself. But I like to think that surviving this winter has made me an official Pacific Northwestener and I’ll be a little hardier this go round. So I’m really trying to have a different attitude.

We had a great 4 mile run today. I realized that this “me” time I had “selfishly” carved out for myself wasn’t just about me. It was about Abigail too. Sometimes when it’s flat and we are the only two on the trail I run beside her as I pull her along. I get a big grin and she kicks her legs up and down really fast. And I feel happy. Because I was once the little girl who wasn’t very athletic. And some people may always think of me that way. But my little girl won’t. I know she’ll think I’m pretty strong. I like setting that example for her. We may have painted toenails inside our sneakers, but we sure can pound the pavement too.
Isn’t it wonderful when the “me” you need can also be just as beneficial to some”other?”

PS:  Running gives me extra energy for the things I love even more.  Like building tents.

11 Responses to “Breakfast on the Run”

  1. Asia July 14, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    YAY! Now Abigail’s always going to want a tent!

  2. Heather Cavaliere July 14, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    awwwwwwwwwww i love you and your running goals! 🙂 you make me proud runner girl!

    ps: yesterday we had a fun run from the store, and we ran down rivermont to peakland, past joy’s and she was pulling in the driveway and she honked and waved out of her car and said hi and the guy running next to me was like “gee, it’s nice to have a fan club” and it just made me smile. love you!

    • Sarah July 14, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

      Miss you so much and you’ll never know how much I think of you when I’m out running. Here’s a clue…a LOT. XOXO.

  3. Joy July 15, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    Oh, Sarah! How do I miss thee! No joking when I suggested you come back for the 10 miler…And yes, I was Heather’s cheerleader the other day. She is a POWERHOUSE!!!

    • Sarah July 15, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

      I miss my favorite running buddy, too! I wish I could come back for the 10 miler aka forever. I love that you guys crossed paths!

  4. emily July 24, 2011 at 5:56 am #

    you rock! i felt how hard it is to push that stroller 😉

  5. Erin July 30, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    I followed your link from Keli’s blog. You’re a rockstar! I’m currently following Hal Higdon’s 10k training plan, but I hope to advance onto the half marathon someday.

    • Sarah July 30, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

      Thanks, Erin. I have always felt really prepared when using his training plans! I can’t wait to read how your 10K goes. You are going to do great.

  6. keli July 30, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    sarah!!! this is amazing! i loved reading this!! and see, i won’t even run with my girls unless my husband can run with me, because we have to use a double jogging stroller, and the total weight is INSANE. so you are kicking my rear in that department. 🙂 you rock, momma!!

    • Sarah July 30, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

      I can’t imagine running with a double stroller. As the months go by and Abigail starts to weigh more it definitely gets harder. Best of luck with your training – YOU rock!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hood to Coast: Part 1 | The Oregon Tail - August 24, 2011

    […] I ran hills and trails and beach and bayfront. And as I’ve mentioned before, Abigail was my #1 training partner. But a toddler is not going to text you or call you when it’s time to go for a run. If I […]

Leave a Reply

