Dinner S.O.S

26 Jul

Yesterday wasn’t the best day. As I casually mentioned in a previous post, Abigail has decided that two naps are for babies and one nap is sufficient for a big girl like her. (I know. She is a baby, but try telling her that!) It’s been a little messy. Because when the experts say that the transition to one nap will result in a longer afternoon nap they are lying. In our house, it’s means business as usual for the morning nap and then nothing for the rest of the day! It is awesome!

Actually I am the liar now. It’s been a lot of tears, a lot of whining, and yesterday, a lot of vegetables.

I decided that Monday was the perfect day for whipping up a quick little vegetable lasagna. Little did I know it would be the same day as Abigail’s ultimate breakdown. It was horrible – for over an hour Abigail rolled around on the floor, carried on, and flung every snack I offered across the kitchen. (Hank thought it was the best day of his life.)

I had unsuccessfully tried to get her to take an afternoon nap twice, but gave it one more shot because she was just. so. tired.  At four o’clock I realized a nap was not happening and I had to face the counter full of needy vegetables. I was beyond frustrated and totally drained. I had no idea how dinner was going to get finished.

The whole point of making this lasagna was because I was really hoping that Abigail would like it. It wouldn’t even be finished now for her to give it a try. And it wasn’t a big deal, but when you get your mind fixated on something it becomes a big deal.

Suddenly I understood why there was a “repeat play” on the Baby MacDonald DVD and we fired that puppy right up. (And I would just like to add that I’m really sorry to all of the “repeat play” using parents out there that I totally judged for needing that button because I so get it now.)

It took a Baby MacDonald and a half before I had the lasagna in the oven. It wasn’t ready in the way I had hoped it would be, but I spooned a little of the vegetable mixture on an extra noodle and much to my surprise she ate it. Every squash, onion, zucchini, red pepper, and mushroom. Oh sweet victory. 

By 6:30 she was asleep and I felt like a mess.  I went to bed feeling disappointed in myself for losing my patience. My daughter needed me more than she needed a vegetable lasagna, but for some reason I couldn’t let it go. I wish I could have done things differently. I should have fixed a peanut butter sandwich and cuddled up with Abigail and watched Baby MacDonald on continuous loop together.

And it’s funny. Today was better. We cleaned up the mess and then made a new one. Because life is messy. It’s a lot of dinners and dishes. But it’s also forgiveness, patience, and some really great leftovers. Bon Appetit.

PS:  Give the lasagna I made a try!  You can find it here.  (I used 1/2 zucchini and 1/2 yellow squash instead of all yellow squash.)

*Moms of toddlers be warned, prep time isn’t really 20 minutes.  But you knew that.

4 Responses to “Dinner S.O.S”

  1. KathyMagnusson July 27, 2011 at 3:23 am #

    Oh precious girl! I love you and how you handle life’s messes! YOu should see our house. But the end is going to be so worth it!

  2. Lindsay July 27, 2011 at 6:46 am #

    That looks delicious and I also wondered the reasoning for the “repeat play” button on our baby videos…I see the necessity. 🙂 AND I clicked on your link and I have read the Pioneer Woman’s blog a time or two – she’s great!

  3. Kimberly August 2, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Oh, YUM.

    Can you come make that for me? Pretty please?

    • Sarah August 2, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

      Oh all right… What can possibly go wrong this time? ;o)

Leave a Reply

