You Capture: Happiness

11 Aug

There’s something pretty special about a brand new box of crayons, a rainbow of possibilities within reach. Abigail got her first box of 96 crayons yesterday. That’s a whole lot of crayons for a 16 month old, but I figured who wants to color in brown when you can have sepia?! Besides, the box of 96 is only a dollar more than the box of 48. I know. That’s just crazy.

Buying these crayons for Abigail takes me back to some happy memories. My sisters and I sprawled on our stomachs with the green “Jane” plastic tub that held our coloring books and the metal tackle box full of crayons. I loved that tackle box with its years upon years of old school crayons dumped in to create Crayola Mountain. I loved that tackle box even though I would occasionally stub my toe on it. The only thing better than the tackle box was the beginning of school which always meant brand new crayons — crayons that would eventually be peeled and broken and colored into dullness. Crayons that in June would get thrown in the tackle box.

This morning when we opened Abigail’s new box of crayons it was like happiness unleashed. What wonder!

*Please note that although I think my child is a genius (ha!), of course that coloring page was done by yours truly.  Now the dumping of all 96 crayons onto the floor…that one’s all Abigail.

I’m linking up with Beth for this week’s You Capture Challenge: Happiness.
What’s putting a smile in your heart today?

12 Responses to “You Capture: Happiness”

  1. Asia August 11, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    Don’t forget about the built in crayon sharpener!!

  2. Teresa August 11, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    She looks like she is having a blast, and that certainly brought back some great memories for me!

  3. Austin-Lee August 11, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    Great shots! Love all the color!

  4. Elaine August 11, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Happiness IS new box of crayons! Love this post. And your fabulous photos to go with it. 🙂

  5. Stephanie@Geezees August 12, 2011 at 7:15 am #

    What a sweet face 🙂

  6. Brooke Chambers August 12, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    How fun! She is so cute! That last shot is adorable!

  7. Heather August 12, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    I love the shot of her little hand in the box of crayons. Sidebar: I just bought my son his first box of crayons, although 1 might be a little young yet, because he was more interested in trying to eat them! Lovely pictures, though…a happy girl!

    • Sarah August 15, 2011 at 7:50 am #

      Abigail started out trying to eat the crayons, too. In fact, every now and then she still tries to sneak one in. Happy coloring!

  8. JustHeather August 12, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    Abigail looks like she is having a blast.
    I always loved the box of 96 crayons and spent many hours coloring and drawing. So much opportunity in all that color!

    I hope you are loving my home state as much as I miss it. I was born and raised on the Oregon coast a couple of hours south of you. I miss the smell of the ocean the most (after my family, of course).

    • Sarah August 15, 2011 at 7:49 am #

      Thank you! We can’t believe we get the opportunity to live here. How lucky you were to grow up here!

  9. Caroline August 18, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Lovely photos!! It’s such a wonder to see new things being discovered! 🙂

Leave a Reply

