Hood to Coast: Part 1

24 Aug

In April I set a goal of completing the Eugene Women’s Half Marathon. I printed a training plan, taped it to my fridge, and I ran and ran. I stretched. I strengthened. I started feeling like myself again. I ran down 101. I ran hills and trails and beach and bayfront. And as I’ve mentioned before, Abigail was my #1 training partner. But a toddler is not going to text you or call you when it’s time to go for a run. If I didn’t feel like running the only person I was letting down was myself.

I was a faithful runner, but about halfway through my plan, when the mileage increased I started to have pain in my right leg. I got discouraged. I cried. I called my sister vowing that I was giving up. It was stupid to think I could even accomplish this in the first place. But Emily wasn’t having any of that nonsense. She gave me a routine to help strengthen my leg and made sure I was stretching enough. I took 2 days off and when a new week started I was back to running. My leg felt okay, but I still had pain. I started biking and stretched even more and my leg surprisingly took a turn for the better. I was still very nervous about the 13.1 miles I had committed to run the first weekend of September. I was glad I hadn’t really told anyone I was doing it because at this point I didn’t know if I could. There is nothing worse than that feeling of failure.

And just when I was ready to give up on the half marathon something pretty amazing fell into my lap. The doorbell rang and there was opportunity with a smile on its face. I was being offered a spot as a replacement runner in a local Hood to Coast relay team.

Um, excuse me. Hood to Coast. THE relay?!

The two events were back to back. Hood to Coast one weekend and the Half Marathon the following. I wasn’t sure I could do both. I was going to have to choose. And the more I thought about it, the more I realized that there was no way I was saying no to Hood to Coast.

My team and I are heading to Portland tomorrow afternoon. At 3:30AM on Friday morning we will drive to Mt. Hood for our 5:45AM start time. Over the course of 30 hours the 12 runners of Team Platypus will collectively run 200 miles until we reach the beach in Seaside, OR.

I’m running legs 4, 13, and 25. Mileage is 7.18, 4.18, and 3.75 respectively. Will I be running the half marathon the following weekend? It isn’t likely. But sometimes life throws you a curve ball that you get to knock out of the park. I’m glad I did all of that training because I was ready. Which makes it feel like this was the race I was supposed to do all along.

I’ll be back on Sunday with a full report, and if I’m not it’s because I’m still sleeping. Because something tells me I’m not going to be getting much of that…

Go Team Platypus!

17 Responses to “Hood to Coast: Part 1”

  1. Kelly Richardson August 25, 2011 at 3:23 am #

    Am so proud of you!

    • Sarah August 29, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

      Thanks, friend! XOXO

  2. Joy August 25, 2011 at 3:40 am #

    YAY Sarah! GO Sarah! You CAN Do It Sarah! This looks incredible! SOOOOOOOOOO PROUD of YOU!

    • Sarah August 29, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

      Thinking I’ll run a 10 miler here the day you do yours. Then we’ll be running together. I really miss that!

  3. Ashley August 25, 2011 at 6:02 am #

    Sarah!! That is awesome. We will be current you on here in va! So excited for you and proud that you didn’t give up. What an amazing opportunity!!

    • Sarah August 29, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      Thank you, friend! Let’s chat soon!

  4. Lindsay August 25, 2011 at 7:28 am #

    SO COOL! Go girl go! You’re going to be amazing!

  5. Cammie August 25, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    Wow that is awesome! My best friend is a runner too and I know I could never be motivated enough to do that. Good luck!

    ICLW #110

  6. Anna Kudak August 26, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    I’m a runner wannabe. I’m scared to start! But I love how simple it seems. Get dressed, stretch, run! I want that life.

    Good for you! You’re my idol.

    • Sarah August 29, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      You can totally start running! Be warned. It’s addicting. I started by signing up for a 5K to motivate me…just saying…

  7. JustHeather August 26, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    Good luck on your run today!

  8. Sarah August 26, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    Woo Hoo!!! I hope things went well today!!!

    Keep on running!!!!

    Happy ICLW
    #75

  9. Sue Moore August 26, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    Good luck Sarah!! So proud that you hung in there!!!!!

    • Sarah August 29, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

      Thanks, Sue! Miss you!

  10. Jessica August 27, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    What a great opportunity! Good luck and I hope you’re leg gets better every day.

    Ps. I love your dog!

    Jess
    Life in the White House

    ICLW

  11. Kristin August 27, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Wow, that is incredible. You’re going to kick ass.

    ICLW #19

  12. Annissa August 28, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    What an amazing opportunity for you – and how exciting!!! Hope you had a great time doing it!!

    Happy ICLW from # 86 ❤

Leave a Reply

