A Blogiversary

3 Sep

It’s been a year since I posted for the first time on The Oregon Tail. I can’t believe how much has changed. A few months ago Ryan asked me what was going to happen to The Oregon Tail. Did I feel like it was time to end the story I had felt compelled to tell?

We sat in our living room and talked about it for over an hour coming to the conclusion that perhaps it was time to write the last post and end it. Hadn’t I accomplished the feat that seemed so enormous? We moved, made friends, settled a bit. I had started to feel a shift inside. I was okay with being here. We did it.

And I really was ready to end it all. This post, September 3, 2011 was going to be it. I could print out these posts, staple them together, and tuck them away. One year seemed like a perfect place to call it quits.

But then, I couldn’t do it. This blog was the thing that kept me going. I would write unencumbered by the fact that I was brand new in a place where I knew nobody and everyone I did know was far, far away. The writing became an outlet for the range of emotions I felt during this first year. Clicking publish let me acknowledge everything that was swirling around inside and then let me move on. It was hard sometimes. To put down those raw feelings, worrying that people would worry about me. Or wonder if I was happy, if everything was okay. To risk being talked about, perhaps judged. What I found instead was an outpouring of support.

The year went on and I could feel a change in me. Less posting about what had been lost and more posting about what I had been given. Now I’m trying to find a comfortable place between where I’m from and where I’m going. I don’t know where we will be living in 10 years or even 5 years. It just happens to be the way it is for our family. I’m not sure if I will ever have the experience of a forever place. And that makes my life have this irresistable adventurelike quality.

I am happy that I get to tuck these experiences with my family into this little corner of the world I can call my own, maybe for always or maybe just for now. All I do know is that I’m not done telling our stories.

So thank you for caring about us enough to read this little blog. To those of you who have followed us this whole way, sending your comments like virtual hugs, cheers! And Happy Blogiversary to me.

9 Responses to “A Blogiversary”

  1. Lindsay September 3, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    SARAH! I would have been very sad if this was the end. Phew. Glad you’re still going to tell stories because I wouldn’t want to stop laughing so hard that I cry, or just plain crying…ha! Happy Blogiversary!

    • Sarah September 3, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

      Thank you! :o)

  2. Carole Calle September 3, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    Reading your story has kept you close to my heart. Seeing Abigail grow up, watching you become more “you” in your new home, all your adventures, oh, how I would miss those! Don’t leave us now. We love you too much to let you go.

    • Sarah September 3, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

      Thanks for being such an amazingly supportive person. Miss you!

  3. Mom September 3, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    Oh, Sarah, I can’t tell you how much we have loved your blogs. You have a wonderful gift of expressing what you feel. Your blog is “the closest thing to being there” (other than the phone and pictures, of course–but then I WANT IT ALL–LOL)!!! We have laughed and cried right along with you, loving you every step (mile) of the way. Your experiences have opened up new experiences for us too–we’ve even traveled across the country now and will do it again (who would have thought!!!). You have always been and remain so connected in heart . . . and that overcomes any distance that separates us!

    • Sarah September 3, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

      Love you, Mom.

  4. Kelly Richardson September 3, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    Am so glad you chose NOT to end the blogging- keeps a piece of you right here in VA! PLUS- how are we all to keep up w/ Abigail, Hank, and their awesome parents! We love and miss you, but are so glad you’re content!

    • Sarah September 3, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

      Reading a comment from you always makes my day. It really means a lot. Thank you.

  5. Heather Cavaliere September 5, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    tears….always tears. it doesn’t matter if you’re near or far, writing about abigail or oregon, telling of your good runs or your bad runs…i just always tear up. I love you and am so glad you write this blog. It’s one of my favorite things!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

