Wild Weekend

12 Sep

It was a busy weekend around here. The city calendar was double booked with the Wild Seafood Weekend and the Rogue Gathering Surf Contest. But that didn’t keep my mind off the fact that 12 months ago, we were sitting in our realtor’s office being told to check out the same events mentioned above. We didn’t. We were on a whirlwind trip where the number one priority was finding a place to live. It was stressful, but I was left wondering if perhaps something good would come of all the madness.

Saturday morning Ryan and I drove down to South Beach to watch our friends compete in the surf contest, and as we realized the significance of the weekend we laughed. The kind of laugh that might be followed with a “well isn’t that something?”

We had pumpkin muffins while we waited for the contest to start. We chased Abigail’s sandy bottom to the water’s edge over and over until more friends came and provided distractions. We cheered when Ollie caught a great wave, which probably wasn’t so great to a professional like him, but was pretty amazing to a first time spectator like myself. Bella, the surfing dog, raced up and down the beach. And the feeling of doing something you’ve never done before, never imagined doing ever, combined with the comfort of being around friends made it feel familiar. Like it was our beach. And the funny thing is – it is ours.  We are a part of this community.That something good I had hoped to find in Oregon has risen like a wave on the ocean’s surface.  I knew it would come.  It was just a matter of time.  I am learning to let go.  To just be.  Be here.  And that has been oh so good for me.

So when Asia called at the weekend’s close to ask if I wanted to try stand up paddleboarding (SUP), I said, “Okay!”  We weren’t in the ocean, just out on the reservoir, where the only wave was a wave of happiness.  And that wave carried me all the way home.

15 Responses to “Wild Weekend”

  1. Kelly Richardson September 13, 2011 at 3:19 am #

    Am so glad you are content and happy!

    • Sarah September 13, 2011 at 11:34 am #

      Me too. Can’t wait to see you again! XOXOX!

  2. Mom September 13, 2011 at 3:50 am #

    What a nice weekend and such perfect timing!! And because I didn’t get to talk to you yesterday or very much this weekend, this is the first reporting–a reading and visual treat and a great way to start my day!!

  3. Joy September 13, 2011 at 4:31 am #

    Love the sandy tush, in awe of SUP, and so happy that you are happy!

    • Sarah September 13, 2011 at 11:30 am #

      Miss you something awful! Come to Oregon so we can run and SUP or just relax and drink chai!

  4. KathyMagnusson September 13, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    What fun! love the pictures you keep sending! makes me fell you are right here with us!! Love you all

  5. Amy Rossman September 13, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    So glad to hear of your great weekend. I was just thinking the other day that a year ago on Deanna’s Birthday, September 17, was our last day keeping Abigail. So happy for the friends you have made and that you have settled into a new phase of your life there! Doesn’t it feel great to be where you feel you belong instead of feeling like a visitor? Congrats Sarah!

    • Sarah September 13, 2011 at 11:32 am #

      It feels really nice. This time of year last year was so hard for me and fall is usually my favorite season. So I feel like I’m making up for lost time. Hope the girls are doing well. I know you all are spoiling baby Maggie just like you did Abigail!

  6. Asia September 13, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Next stop… The ocean! You did so great! Oh, and we officially have babysitters this weekend. Let’s make a plan!!

    • Sarah September 13, 2011 at 11:35 am #

      I don’t know about that ocean part….you first. You are my 27″ SUP board inspiration. ;o)

      • Asia September 13, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

        Ha ha ha! Yes, I think mine will have to be a bit bigger! Ollie told me that he thought I would fall in for sure. I said thanks for setting me up to fail.. Ha!! Feels nice that I proved him wrong!!

  7. keli hoskins September 13, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    this is a beautiful post … it made me smile. i’m glad you’re happy 🙂

    and that picture of all the spectators lined up on the foggy beach? oh man … print and hang it. so gorgeous!!

    • Sarah September 13, 2011 at 11:33 am #

      Thank you. It feels so good to be a little more settled this September. Wish I could take credit for that beach picture, but it was taken by my husband! I was chasing after Abigail, who obviously has no fear of the water!

  8. artoornstra September 13, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    So fun! The coast has some cool events I’d love to go to someday. 🙂 When we first moved to Oregon five years ago, I still very much associated myself as “someone from Michigan.” A lot of my talk centered around Michigan. A year or so after we moved here, I walked to my mailbox and it was clear enough I could see Mt. Hood. I said, “Wow–I get to live here! How cool is that!?” As you begin to go to community events year after year and create family traditions, you find youself feeling more like you have a home.

  9. emily September 15, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    sandy butt! SUP is awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

