History Repeats

20 Sep

“Those who do not learn from history are doomed to repeat it.”  George Santayana

Apparently I am one of those people.

Some of you may remember a certain goldfish incident back in June.  For the rest of you, let me refresh your memory.Yes, that was awesome.  Hank missed the whole thing because I scooped them up so quickly.  It was cute and I had a really hard time being mad about it.  I gave my arm a swing and had to say, “You got me, Abigail.  Good one.”

Today, against better judgement, I let Abigail walk into the living room with the entire box of Cheerios.  (Can I just mention that it was the super size box of Cheerios?)  I needed to make dinner fast and figured, whatever, she can eat some cereal if it will keep her entertained.  I was heading out to a 6:30 movie with a friend and needed to get everything done quickly.

And what is it about kids that the second you think the phrase, ‘I need to hurry,’ they pick up extrasensory perception and decide that now would be the perfect time to do something like this.

Apparently Hank had learned from his previous mistake.  He was off the cold tile floor of the bathroom in no time and lapping up Cheerios like he was in a hot dog eating contest.  I contemplated letting him continue until they were all gone, but he started coughing and gagging from the velocity with which the cereal went flying down his throat.  So I yelled for him to “go to bed” and put the gate up in the bathroom doorway.

I then popped in Baby MacDonald (that was one history lesson I wasn’t going to forget) leaving all 2,387,204 Cheerios on the floor as I crunched my way back into the kitchen.  Ryan would be home soon and I would be tagging out to go watch what might have been the worst movie I’ve seen in a long time.

But it was still so great.  My friend and I were the only ones in the theater making it totally acceptable to whisper comments back and forth, laughing as loud and often as we felt like it.  I think I made a remark about how dirty the floor was.  I’d like to retract that statement.  See above.

One Response to “History Repeats”

  1. Kathy September 21, 2011 at 6:11 am #

    To FUNNNY! Made me smile! Glad you worked with it!

Leave a Reply

