One Lovie or Two?

22 Sep

Awhile back I got a Facebook message from my childhood friend, Sarah. She was going to be on the Oregon Coast with her husband and family and wanted to know if we wanted to meet up. Of course I did. I hadn’t seen Sarah in FOREVER. They wanted to check out the aquarium so Abigail and I went along.

We had a great time trying to summarize what had been happening in our lives over the last 10 years,TEN YEARS, while entertaining and chasing a toddler around. Sarah’s mom was there, too, spoiling Abigail with gobs of attention.

The visit ended all too soon. But not before Abigail tore into the gift shop and grabbed a pile of white stuffed seals. Sarah’s mom decided that Abigail needed one of those seals so she bought her one. It was such a sweet gesture and made me have a moment where I wanted to hug her and say thank you. Thank you for treating Abigail like a grandchild and doing this very grandmotherish thing by buying her that little stuffed seal.

Sarah’s mom named it CeCe and it stuck — maybe because one of the only things Abigail can say perfectly is “SEE! SEE!” We call her Cecelia for long.

CeCe has become Abigail’s constant companion. When I get Abigail up from a nap or a night’s sleep and give her a kiss she holds CeCe up for a kiss, too. CeCe travels to friends’ houses and to the beach. She eats pancakes at our favorite breakfast spots. When CeCe was lost for a whole day I told Abigail that she must be out on some exciting ocean adventure. Twenty four hours later I found her in the master bathroom inside the cabinet. I wish I had a picture of their reunion.

Because of the constant paling around CeCe the white seal quickly disguises herself as CeCe the gray seal. CeCe gets washed in a pillowcase at least once a week, twice on really exciting weeks. I can already see the seal’s nose getting worn and the whiskers that were once straight out are now hugging the side of CeCe’s face. And it made me start to wonder if I should get a back up CeCe. I’ve heard of people doing that — having two identical comfort items so their child never has to be without it or if it gets lost another magically appears.

But I also think there is no way CeCe could ever be replaced. What makes this little seal so special is the story of how it came into our lives and how Abigail, with no encouraging from anyone, became so attached to it. Cecelia is one of a kind. I think Abigail feels that way, too.

So. What do you think? Should we get a back up seal? Does/Did your child have a spare comfort item “just in case?”

8 Responses to “One Lovie or Two?”

  1. Heather knapp September 22, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Trust me back ups don’t work. Emma used to pick up her back up huggie take s sniff and throw it on the ground. And the same for Jack. Just do as I did. Wherever you go – look for Cecelia first cause if Abigail is anything like my 2 you don’t want to find out what happens when Cecelia is lost. And as I am typing this Emma who is now 12 is sitting rubbing huggies head and jack who is 6 has silk shoved up his nose with his thumb in his mouth. And nothing makes me happier.

    • Sarah September 23, 2011 at 8:00 am #

      I have a feeling you might be right about that….sigh. Does this mean I might just need to be responsible and *gasp* organized?! Oh dear. PS: I love huggie and silk silk.

  2. keli September 22, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    i often wonder the same thing about lucy’s blanky. so far, she only uses it to go to sleep [as soon as i sit her in her crib, she grabs her blanky in her left hand and pops her right fingers in her mouth] but she doesn’t take it with her when she leaves her crib. i HAVE taken it with us in the car if i know we’re going to be out during naptime or past her bedtime, because i found out that she will sometimes actually take a nap in the car if she has blanky. as opposed to screaming, lol.

    currently, it is still pretty much a crib-only lovey, but if she starts taking it out [i’m thinking about in the future as a toddler when she can get in and out of her own bed], then i may get a backup.

    i would alternate the backup and the original so that they get kind of equally worn. maybe put a little mark on the tag on the original or backup? like when you wash CeeCee, wash the new one and then give that one to her? it’s a tough one – kids are SO SMART. i can totally see us losing lucy’s blanky, and i can’t imagine nighttime without it.

    • Sarah September 23, 2011 at 7:57 am #

      That’s a good idea about alternating so one doesn’t look “newer” than the other one. Definitely something to think about. I feel like I’m still on the fence about it, but that’s okay because I have a feeling there will always be stuffed seals at the aquarium. Those things are liquid gold. ;o)

  3. Cheryl September 22, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=4389509 Trevor actually had 3….they were all the same (just different color) labs from toys r us (a black lab named Brutus that stayed at home, a brown lab named Wags that stayed in the vehicle so he could have it when he napped in the car, and a yellow lab named Bingo that stayed at his day care providers house). Brutus was a real black lab that belonged to our neighbor, Wags is the name of the dog from the Wiggles tv show (Trevor used to like that show), and Bingo was the name of one of his day care provider’s dogs. Same thing happend to the dogs in the pillow cases either in the washer or the dryer…..eventually one lost an eye (I glued it back on), then one of the noses peeled (I used a black Sharpie to color it black again)…but Trevor knew and confronted me about these differences. I just explained that it was normal for the animals to get scrapes, cuts, and bruises just like he did.

    • Sarah September 23, 2011 at 8:01 am #

      What a great idea to have 3 all for different places! I was giggling think of you repairing the dogs with sharpies and hot glue. The things we do to survive, right?! I’m hoping I have a few more months before I have to do any major repairs.

  4. artoornstra September 22, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    I agree that back-ups don’t work. 🙂 Hailey never really got attached to anything. She just carried books everywhere. Derek has a very special “fish blanket” that he will probably take to college with him. It has since been frayed, ripped, and looks like a rag. He sleeps with it every night and needs it during naps (he’s four). Around 2 1/2 we made him always keep it in his bed. Because he was so dependent on it for falling asleep, we had to always keep in a place we could find it. Kara (almost 2) has a blanket too and a lamb. Always searching for them and constantly washing them too.

    • Sarah September 23, 2011 at 7:59 am #

      Isn’t it amazing how they get so attached to something? My mom told me she threw my blanket away…I found it years and years later when cleaning out my closet and almost cried. I loved that thing.

Leave a Reply

