Trip East Part 1: The Carolinas

26 Oct

We are all the sum of many parts. And while I sat here and tried to think of a more interesting way to say this I realized I was wasting time and Abigail is going to be waking soon and I have a lot to do before book club tonight.

But it fits, especially when I think about our trip back East — driving along highways, stopping to pick up some of the pieces of our lives, dusting them off so they shine again.

We got to meet up with some Hokie friends on our way down to South Carolina. Gayle and I had due dates just a day apart. Graham ended up being born about a week ahead of Abigail. We hadn’t seen each other since the babies, now 18 months, were born. Gayle makes me laugh, the good hearty kind. And thanks to Facebook, I felt like I already knew Graham. I didn’t think it was possible, but he is even more precious in person.

Our next stop was South Carolina for 3 days. It was a treat with its hot and sunny disposition.

There were cousins everywhere, so Abigail played and played. To me there’s nothing better than great-grandparents and grandparents and aunts and uncles and cousins swirling around making their special blend of chaos.

Abigail realized that my spooky decorations were no match for Nanny’s.

We loved on Murphy.

And ate things like pimento cheese, fried green tomatoes, and bacon — which may or may not have been on a sandwich together.

Finally, we took family photos in a really crummy park with a really crabby Abby, but we were thrilled with how they turned out.And on we traveled with sleepy eyes and a full heart.

To Be Continued…

 

10 Responses to “Trip East Part 1: The Carolinas”

  1. HEATHER October 26, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    Perfect! Love abigail in front of the huge stuffed bear! 🙂

    • Sarah October 27, 2011 at 7:16 am #

      Ryan’s parents had a huge stuffed koala bear named Kirby. Rob and Heather got a Kirby Jr. Abigail loved him. LOL!

      • Heather Cavaliere October 27, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

        that picture of abigail with her cousin and the ship or car or whatever is so precious…the way she’s watching him…oh love!

  2. Asia October 26, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    So glad you got to have fried green tomatoes!!!!!! 😉

  3. keli October 26, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    oh, these are so great … looks like SO much fun!! what part of South Carolina, because, you know … I live in South Carolina and I will be kicking myself if you were RIGHT HERE and i missed you!

    • Sarah October 27, 2011 at 7:15 am #

      We were in Simpsonville, right outside of Greenville. What part of South Carolina are you in?!

      • keli hoskins October 27, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

        you are KIDDING ME!!! that’s where I live!! I mean, I actually live IN SIMPSONVILLE!! I can’t believe it. Now I am really sad that I didn’t get the chance to meet you.

      • Sarah October 27, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

        NO WAY!!! How funny! Well, we will have to make that happen sometime during a future visit out there. We love it there. What a great place!

  4. Kelly Richardson October 27, 2011 at 3:04 am #

    The pics are awesome, the time spent w/ family….PRICELESS! Ready for Part II

    • Sarah October 27, 2011 at 7:14 am #

      It was so great to see you and Cass!

Leave a Reply

