Listen. Learn. Be Amazed.

20 Dec

A box came.  I was expecting it, but Abigail was surprised.  Inside the best kind of treasures awaited – dinosaurs and cooking tools and moose socks to name a few.  My friend, Jennifer, had collected some of her boys’ favorite things and passed them along.

“Those look tasty…” thought Hank.

Oh the wonder!  Behold the fair princess and her mighty dinosaurs.  It all started this summer with a Brachiosaurus we adopted from Fred Meyer.  She liked tea.  We named her Suzette.  Now dinosaurs totally light up this kid’s life.  I have to admit I find it absolutely hilarious and very endearing.  RAWR!  

(*I’d also like to mention that Abigail’s bicoastal BFF shares this passion, which makes me convinced that should the two have grown up in the same town they really would have been BFF’s, not just because their moms said so.)

T-Rex complete with flesh wound and sound effects.  Amazing.

Jennifer is really great like that.  She listens and responds and remembers.  She knew about the dinosaurs and the counter top cooking.  She told me the story of the moose socks.

Today Abigail got her Christmas present from us.  I know it’s early, but we will be traveling for Christmas and it just happened kind of organically and since I have always been a fan of organic experiences (not the kind that you buy in the store, although we did buy this in the store…nevermind.)

I opened the closet and she saw the roll of drawing paper on the shelf.  We’ve had the paper for a long time, but I put it away so we could have a little left for the easel at Christmas.  Well, Christmas came early.

Let the doodling begin…

We usually don’t say much when we draw.  We sit side by side, until Abigail crawls in my lap to watch or add her own touches to what I’m doing.  I like that quietness.  No instructions necessary.  I don’t worry about telling her what color I’m using or what I’m drawing.  We just create.  It’s our peace in the tornado of toddler-hood.

And then she said it…

“Foof!”

That would be Floof, our nickname for Hank.

Be still my heart.  It is bursting with happiness.

May you have a joyous Christmas creating beautiful memories with your family.  Perhaps it starts with listening : to the Christmas story, to the ones you love, to the quiet place in your heart.  I wish you peace and happiness.

3 Responses to “Listen. Learn. Be Amazed.”

  1. Kathy December 21, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    LOVE YOU! Mike, Elizabeth and I have been playing Hand and Foot around the kitchen table. Building our own “teenage ” memories! See you soon!

    • Sarah December 21, 2011 at 8:05 am #

      That’s so great! We can’t wait to join in when we get there! Love you, too!

  2. Joy December 22, 2011 at 2:57 am #

    Merry Christmas dear friends! We miss and love you dearly!

Leave a Reply

