The Big 100!

3 Jan

Each time I publish a post it tells me how many I’ve written – “Congratulations!  This is your __th post!”  The numbers have been creeping up and finally I’ve made it to 100!

I felt like something needed to be kind of different about such a nice, round, three digit number.  So here it is friends.  100 things.  Some blog related, some just life related.  Hope you enjoy perusing these little lists as much as I loved writing them.

Ten Favorite Posts: Here are ten of my all time favorite posts.  I’ve put them in (mostly) chronological order.

  1. Moving On
  2. The Gift
  3. Oregon: The Final Frontier
  4. Supposed to Be
  5. Unexpected Blessings
  6. Solstice
  7. Growing
  8. Good Enough
  9. The Mighty Sea
  10. Sunsets Are Free

Ten Reader Favorites:These are the ten posts that have been read the most times.  (In descending order)

  1. Moving On
  2. Steps
  3. Our Home
  4. Breakfast on the Run
  5. Unexpected Blessings
  6. Trouble on the High Seas
  7. Hank’s Condition
  8. Good Enough
  9. Hood to Coast: Part 1
  10. 4th of July

Ten Big Supporters: The people who fearlessly and frequently comment. I get giddy with excitment when I get a notification of what is most likely your “new comment.”  In no particular order…

  1. Ryan
  2. Mom
  3. Emily
  4. Kathy
  5. Joy
  6. Kelly
  7. Jennifer
  8. Asia
  9. Susie
  10. Annoymous Readers – The people who I may not know even read this blog. The people who have taken the time to send me supportive messages or emails or cards. I appreciate all of you. Thank you for sharing these moments with me.

Ten Things We Do When It’s Raining:

  1. Read a book or two or ten.
  2. Turn up the iPod and dance.
  3. Head to the aquarium.
  4. Take a walk and splash in puddles.
  5. Play hide and seek with Hank.
  6. Invite a friend to play.
  7. Spend a little time in the kitchen cooking up something tasty.
  8. Spread out a huge piece of paper and fill the whole thing up with drawings and scribbles.
  9. Indoor soccer and golf.
  10. Check to see what weather our friends are having across the country.

Ten Things I Love About the Oregon Coast:

  1. Hot tea and socks are year-round indulgences.
  2. Delicious seafood like salmon and dungeness crab.
  3. Pointy trees.
  4. Green, green, grass. So green you have to see it to believe it.
  5. Windswept cliffs.
  6. Empty winter beaches.
  7. Lighthouses.
  8. Sunshine is a treasured gift and you treat it as such.
  9. The friendly, genuine people.
  10. Putting up with so much wind and rain really increases your hardiness quotient.

Ten Things About Living with a Newfoundland:

  1. No matter how much you vacuum, dog hair exsists as a part of life.
  2. Drool slimes can reach the floor or ceiling depending on the situation.
  3. Their entire face must enter the water bowl when drinking.
  4. Brush, brush, brush.
  5. Their heads will be able to see on top of the counter and table so take care with all baked goods or party foods.
  6. Petting begets more petting and if you aren’t giving more pets you will get a head nudge.
  7. Big bark, no bite. But I wouldn’t press your luck just in case.
  8. Snoring? Yes.
  9. Terrific foot warmer.
  10. Totally scared of tiny barking “dogs.”

Ten Writings I’ve Loved:

  1. To Kill a Mockingbird
  2. A Thousand Splendid Suns
  3. All But My Life
  4. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
  5. The Alchemist
  6. The Great Gatsby
  7. Harry Potter Series
  8. Freedom Summer
  9. The Tale of Despereaux
  10. Wherever You Are – My Love Will Find You

Ten Things I’ve Learned Through Writing:

  1. Say it. Whether it’s a great big thing that goes on for paragraphs or just a couple of lines, you’ll be glad you did.
  2. Be real and be honest – in your writing and in your life.
  3. Acknowledgement is a good way to begin to let some bottled up things go. Seriously, let it go.
  4. If I want to put a period after one word that’s my prerogative. It’s called voice. Deal.
  5. Sometimes a sentence just needs to start with “and.” Sorry 2nd graders for never letting you do that.
  6. I’m not that great at punctuation — I cheat by using dashes and superfluous commas.
  7. Pushing through the writer’s block may sometimes mean taking time to be still and reflect. And who’s soul doesn’t need that?
  8. Sometimes I am not as hilarious as I think I am. But sometimes I read an old post and just laugh and laugh – like when Hank’s big bottom went thumping down the stairs…
  9. Publishing right away is not always the wisest choice. Put it away, walk away, and proofread. Good grief I did not go to San Diego, it was San Francisco!
  10. Writing, blogging in particular, has kept me more connected than I ever thought possible – to life’s most tiny but significant moments and the people I want to share them with.

Twelve Photographs:  Some of my favorite photos that may not have been previously seen on here.  Starting with January – one photo per month.

Eight Goals for 2012:  Reserving the right to do all or none of these as my whims see fit.

  1. Keep blogging at least once a week.
  2. Get that half marathon in.
  3. Make a nice dinner once a month for a “stay at home” date night.
  4. Go to bed a little earlier.
  5. Read twelve books.
  6. Continue sewing.
  7. Stretch more.
  8. Give thanks daily.

Is that 100 things? I think so.

15 Responses to “The Big 100!”

  1. Asia January 3, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    Congratulations on 100 posts dear friend!! I so look forward to your posts popping up in my email. You have a wonderful way with words. Glad Olivia and I made it in your 100th post!!

    • Sarah January 3, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

      Thank you! Of course you all made it! You are a big part of our Oregon life. :o)

  2. Kathy January 3, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    YEAH this is by far my FAVORITE!!!!!! It keeps me real by seeing….or hearing how real you are! LOVE YOU!

    • Sarah January 3, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

      Thanks for always taking the time to pop on over. You have been a role model to me for as long as I can remember.

  3. Jody Turner January 3, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    WOW! I love your writing! So glad to see Freedom Summer on your list….do you remember when Deborah Wiles visited TJES? 😀 I’m looking forward to reading more and hope you are able to accomplish all of your goals 🙂

    • Sarah January 3, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

      I feel like I want to tell everyone about Freedom Summer! I do remember Deborah Wiles. You’ve always recommended fantastic books. Let me know what you plan on reading. I still read a lot of children’s books and young adult fiction!

  4. Kelly Richardson January 3, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Love your blogs and look forward to reading them! I am just relieved I am able to read them now w/o kleenex nearby! So happy for you, Ryan, Smush, and of course the floofu newfy!

    • Sarah January 3, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

      I am glad we have stayed connected. I miss you and after school impromptu happy hours/mexican nights. Thanks for reading. Love you!

  5. Heather Cavaliere January 3, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    YES YES YES! 🙂 I love love love your blog. If I triple everything I say does it give the effect that I REALLY like it? I hope hope hope so. You are such a sweet inspiration, friend. Love and miss you all the time. (like when I go past Rowland & the Cav, for one)

    • Sarah January 3, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

      Haha! Yes! Yes! Yes! It does! Sometimes I have these urges to go to Yoga at the Y like old times. And I always want you to be there. Maybe some day….

  6. Emily January 3, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    Love this! And I will refer to your book list often 🙂
    I’m waiting for your tenth fave of Oregon coast 🙂

    • Sarah January 3, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

      See! That proofreading will help you every time! Should have listened to my own advice. Shoot!

  7. Joy January 4, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    Memories…Happy 100th to you! Love and miss yall! xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

  8. Becky Williams January 5, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    Sarah this is awesome! Love the pics!

  9. keli January 5, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    congratulations!! love this so much 🙂

Leave a Reply

