And the Winner Is…

8 Jan

We had a fantastic Saturday.  A walk on the beach which ended with Abigail’s attempt to climb Mt. Sand Dune and Hank and I’s blissful rest on the sand.  Closing my eyes with my hat, sweatshirt, and jeans I could almost imagine that I was somewhere warm.  My face felt hot at least…it was perfect.

“You had a good Saturday?” the Coast said to me.  “I’ll see your good Saturday and raise you an even better Sunday.”

All bets were off at that point.  Oh sweet, blue sky and 55 degree weather (which in running is 75 degree weather, requiring shorts and a t-shirt) you do know how to get my heart a-pounding.

I went all in that that point.  An hour long run keeping pace with the ocean, passing kite flyers and dog walkers, splashing through salt water sand puddles.  

Cuddles back home, sitting across from spilt peas, writing on my busted lap top with the sun casting a glare over the screen illuminating the smudges of tiny fingers.

I win.

PS:  That’s not a Christmas tree.  It’s an Oregon tree that just happens to have lights on it.  And it may just stay up all year….

10 Responses to “And the Winner Is…”

  1. Kelly Richardson January 8, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    LOVE!

    • Sarah January 8, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

      You know what I love? Thinking about how one of my dearest friends came out here last spring and the fantastic time we shared.

  2. Heather Cavaliere January 8, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    I love your awesome weekend! 🙂

    • Sarah January 8, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

      Wish we could have been running side by side chatting about everything important and not in our lives!

  3. Jody Turner January 8, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    Ditto! We also had fabulous weather and spent as much time as possible OUTSIDE!!! 🙂

    • Sarah January 8, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

      I love that you all had a fantastic weekend, too! It’s so unbelievably motivating and wonderful! Miss our library and book club chats!

  4. keli January 8, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

    our weekend weather was fabulous, as well!! yesterday was in the 70’s here! so so amazing 🙂 but i would pay good money for a run on the beach right now.

    • Sarah January 8, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

      Lucky! 70’s?! That is amazing for sure! I’ll take any run that isn’t prefaced by rain gear at this point! Ha!

  5. Kathy January 8, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    Yeah Yesterday was pretty here too! Even had an indoor swimmeet but sat out side in stead in the 110 degree pool area!

    Love the pictures!

    • Sarah January 8, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

      And a well deserved break from the swim meet saunas! Hope all went well!

Leave a Reply

