Rain, Rain, Go Away

20 Jan

That isn’t anger towards the sun.. just Abigail’s coloring skills.  Which are awesome.

I’ve been hibernating-ish.  I kind of forgot about this part of living here.  We had been skipping footloose and fancy free through December and most of January rain-free.  It was amazing.  Now we’ve had over 8 inches of rain in a three day period.

I saw a post on Facebook this week.  It had a picture of an elegant runner crunching through the snow with the caption, “There is no such thing as a bad training day.”

Um.  Yes there is.  If your training requires you to push a toddler in hurricane conditions.  Humph.

Sad Sarah.

So my running log was accumulating way too many empty days, which makes me feel all cooped up and stir crazy.

Oh hello there, old pal.

Why did I ever stop doing yoga?  Probably because I couldn’t go with Heather and giggle while feeling totally zen.  Does zen go with yoga?  I have no idea.  Must do more yoga.

“Forget the yoga, Floofer needs a walk.”  Hank

You really have to push through the rainy wall.  It takes a couple of weeks of mental workouts.  “I will leave the house.  I will not become a hermit.”

Well, thanks for the inspiration daily calendar.

My soul must be shriveling up.

Part of this plan of being sunshiny no matter the weather includes inviting a special guest for dinner.

Just kidding.

But in all seriousness, I do wish she could come to dinner.  My friend, Gretchen, and I made Ina’s (we’re on a first name basis) pizza dough a week or so ago.  I keep dreaming about it so I’m making it again — even though I don’t have a mixer with a dough hook so I mixed this all by hand, baby.  Good thing I did yoga today.

Abigail helped by stuffing herself silly with grapes.  I’m going to have a different kind of grape with my pizza tonight. 

And we listened to the songs we would have if we had been running.

Yes.  Yes that is NKOTB.  Don’t judge me.

Happy D-3 Season, Pacific Northwesterners!

13 Responses to “Rain, Rain, Go Away”

  1. keli January 20, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    i love your posts – they always make me smile. which is kind of funny since this post was mostly a post about miserable rain. but still. you seem upbeat about it!

    go nkotb!

    • Sarah January 20, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

      Thanks, Keli! I feel the same when I go to your page! I’m trying to stay positive while encouraging Ryan to look for jobs in the Caribbean…

  2. Gretchen January 20, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    Yeah! My first appearance in your blog! I’m so happy. Ina will cheer any day. 🙂

    • Sarah January 20, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

      Woo Hoo! Tell your girls I only had whole wheat flour left. HAHAHA! I mean, I always use the healthy option…

  3. vtjen03 January 20, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    What a fun running log, I just use the log on my Garmin to keep track. Also, love running to Florence + Machine…Dogs Days Are Over is one of my favorites! Hope you get some dry days soon.

    • Sarah January 20, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

      Haha! It was the free one I got for renewing Runner’s World. I’m super envious of your Garmin! That’s definitely on my wish list.

  4. JustHeather January 21, 2012 at 5:36 am #

    It sounds like you’re surviving quite well in the dampness that is called liquid sunshine. 😉 I hope you are all safe there. It’s pretty scary down the road where my family is at right now.

    • Sarah January 21, 2012 at 7:49 am #

      Liquid sunshine. I like it! There has been so much damage. It’s very scary. We’ve been lucky so far. Hope your family stays safe, too.

  5. Lindsay January 21, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    How old do you think Abigail was when she started eating whole grapes? I know, what a blog comment. I have to admit though, I’m kind of scared of grapes. Ha! I tried peeling and cutting them for Connor a few months ago and it was difficult and he didn’t even want them..so I was just wondering when you felt like you could give her some without worrying about the whole choking thing. 🙂 Let me know. I hope you get some sunshine soon, too!

    • Sarah January 21, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

      This was actually the first time I let her do it. I have been overly freaked out about cutting food into pieces. Until recently she hasn’t been a great “chewer” more of a food shoveler! She’s almost 22 months. But, these grapes were really small and I told her to “chew, chew, chew!” I think she felt really big that I let her do it, but I’ll probably still cut them in half if they are those huge ones the next time we get them. I never peeled Abigail’s, just cut them small and she did okay! We had some sun today. WOO! Must have been your well wishes.

  6. artoornstra January 21, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    Well I manage to go running even though our area was part of Oregon’s state of emergency with all the rising floodwaters. I came back drenched and freezing. I really committed to training for another marathon (that I am thinking of running the Newport Marathon–is that where you are?). I know if I miss a couple days I will not stick with it. However my husband and I talked about it and decided that maybe we can afford a gym membership…at least until the sun returns.

    • Sarah January 21, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

      That is amazing that you still ran! Very impressive! It is definitely more motivating when you are training for a specific race. I’m thinking of attempting the half again, but probably later this year so I can do my training in better weather. I’ve had some hip issues in the past that I have to be careful with so the bad weather will force me to do some much needed strength & cross training. Good luck with your marathon! We do live in Newport. That’s great that you are thinking of running yours here!

  7. Becky Williams January 27, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    Sarah,

    I have a hook for my mixer that has never been used! Ha! You are welcome to it! Love catching up on your posts. Love all the pics of Abigail and of course, precious Hank!

Leave a Reply

