We Are Who We Are

27 Jan

I meandered through January. Some people bust into the new year with a bang! That person was not me.

I avoided things that needed to be done.

I got overwhelmed when I thought of the things I want to work on.

I wasted time on Pinterest.

Then I decided to tie up some loose ends — the biggest being the Project Life Album I started in January last year.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, it’s essentially an “easy way” to document your everyday life. Traditionally, you take a picture each day and record a caption for it.

I kept taking pictures consistently. But eventually I stopped getting them printed and essentially stopped the writing too.

Sometimes I’m so hard on myself. I’m not enough this or that. My house isn’t clean enough. My closets aren’t organized enough. I eat M&M’s as if I will never have another one again. I’m not a very patient middle of the night parent. I see all of these failures.

I want to stop thinking that way. I will never have a perfect closet. Abigail will always have a floof hair or two sticking on her velcro toys. I will be annoyed when Abigail wakes up in the middle of the night. And darn it, I will buy those stupid Valentine’s m&m’s and eat too many.  

It’s easy for me to see the good in the people I love. Thinking about them and admiring their strengths.

I need to start being easier on myself. I don’t need to be everything. I am enough already.

I’m just about finished now and I’m so proud of it.

It was important work — to me, it is far more important than a perfectly organized junk drawer or six pack abs. I can see that now.  Although, those things would be pretty killer, too…

9 Responses to “We Are Who We Are”

  1. Kelly Richardson January 27, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    But as you see Smush loving her ‘life’ in a photo book- isn’t it all worth it! You are the
    *most attentive mother
    *most detailed blogger (thank you from the Richardson’s )
    *most missed colleague at TJ
    *most FUN to ‘watch’ on FB!
    I love Sarah Knapp and wish she would STOP being so hard on her (awesome) self!

    • Sarah January 28, 2012 at 7:35 am #

      Aww, shucks! Abigail does love the album. I miss you and our across the hall chats/candy raids. I hope Peyton Manning was back up on your door this year…or else.

  2. keli January 27, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    this is amazing. YOU are amazing! i know i could never even start one of those Project Life books, because I KNOW I would never finish it. but you started it! and you are finishing it!! and you are one amazing mother 🙂

    • Sarah January 28, 2012 at 7:37 am #

      Thanks, Keli! That’s sweet. I can’t believe I’m finishing it either to be honest….thinking I’m going to try a different approach to this year’s album. I need something digital so I don’t have to print all of those pics! ARG!

  3. Carole Calle January 27, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    Isn’t it funny how, while you’re trying to figure out what to do next, life happens.

    • Sarah January 28, 2012 at 7:37 am #

      Isn’t that the truth! Cheers!

  4. Lindsay January 27, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    I already started munching on my giant bag of Valentine M&M’s tonight… 🙂

    • Sarah January 28, 2012 at 7:37 am #

      MMMmmmm! Don’t forget you are eating M&M’s for 2 now. 😉

  5. Vera January 30, 2012 at 11:42 am #

    I am working on one this year…it’s been fun so far. I’m doing Project Life digitally though (makes it easier for me). Are you tackling it again this year?

Leave a Reply

