Sprinkles

14 Feb

I’m still here.  It’s been longer than I intended it to be but Ryan’s mom was here to visit and take the role of “Super Nanny” so Ryan and I could make the trip to Paris.  Paris!  And London…and I still can’t believe we went and returned.  I need to write about it and I will.

But for today I’ll keep it simple and relevant.

I believe last year I called it “quieter” in my post.

Valentine’s Day 2011.

Valentine’s Day 2012

It hasn’t been quieter or even quiet this year.

Two terribly terrific two-year-olds and sugar cookies and a few tantrums.

But mostly love and a little bit of sharing.

And yes, it’s kind of a corny, commercial holiday.  But what’s wrong with that, really?  Maybe in this crazy rush of a world we live in we need a little reminder to do something special out of love — like letting your children eat sprinkles from a shaker right before instead of lunch.

Because apparently in the world of a two-year old more sprinkles = more love.

They are right you know — the two-year olds.

Sprinkles of kindness, generosity, gratefulness to family, friends, strangers really do = more love.

In fact, don’t even sweep them up.  Let the dogs take care of them.  Sprinkles and dogs.  And I think it could be a wonderful world.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

And To My Three Valentines:

 ” And I wish you all the love in the world.  But most of all I wish it from myself.”

“And I love you, I love you, I love you.  Like never before.”

11 Responses to “Sprinkles”

  1. Kathy February 14, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    I have so missed your blog! Happy Valentines day! Please have a group hug from us! Consider it a sprinkle of love from the east coast!

    Glad we celebrated last night as Elizbeth is home sick with STREP today!!

    • Sarah February 14, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

      Oh boo for strep! Glad you got to celebrate already. Love all of you so so much!

  2. Heather February 14, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    been waiting for a post! can’t wait for la français et les Britanniques! but in the meantime…this post gave a few tears. I love your words. you are a special friend. miss you! ❤

    • Sarah February 14, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

      I always think of you at this time of year…actually I think about you all the time, but especially with your almost valentine’s day birthday. Love you, friend!

  3. Becky Williams February 14, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    Love you! Love you! Love you some more! You already got it! AND you let her eat sprinkles for lunch YES!!!

  4. emily February 14, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    i like that abigail gets to sit on the counter without pants regardless of if it’s wednesday 😉 save me a cookie!!

  5. Marcie February 14, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

    Wow, Miss Abigail is growing so fast! What a fun day, even with the tantrums. =) We are just beginning that stage as well. As always, I love reading what is happening in your little world and seeing your little one grow and experience all the love you pour into her each day. Happy V-day!

  6. Heather Cavaliere February 15, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    oh i love that pic of abigail, legs crossed, on counter, sprinkling cookies, deep in concentration, maybe talking while she’s doing it. it’s the best.

    • Sarah February 18, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

      She’s heard that your baking treats are extra yummy!

  7. keli February 16, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    PARIS!!! oh my goodness, I hope you guys had so much fun!!

    • Sarah February 18, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

      It was an incredible trip! Still can’t believe we went.

Leave a Reply

