C’est l’amour

18 Feb

I haven’t been to a lot of faraway places — places that require long plane rides and crossing oceans and time zones. I want to say that is the reason why this trip was so special, but that wouldn’t be giving credit where credit was due. It was all because of Paris. Paris is special.

It was never that high on my list of places to see. Not that I didn’t want to go there, I did! I think I just had some other places I thought would be more interesting. Paris seemed a little cliche to me, maybe. But, darn it, it cast its magical spell all around me and my heart was beyond smitten.

I’ve been to New York, Chicago, Los Angeles, Miami, Atlanta, Portland, Denver, and D.C. I don’t claim to be an authority on big city travel, but I do love it. It’s faster, flashier, busier — each city has its own flavor and things to experience, but in the end it’s just another big city. You sightsee, shop, eat, take public transportation, people watch, and if you’re lucky, see a performance. 

We did those things in Paris. It could have felt like another big city but it didn’t. Paris is a place all its own.

It’s beautiful and charming, elegant and chic.

It’s busy, but relaxed — a place you are expected to linger over dinner or your cafe creme.

And the fact that I had no idea what people were saying around me or to me most of the time added to the allure.

“Je ne comprends pa.”

Although I think everyone should say “bonsoir” and “bon appetit.”

Dinners with friends are so much more magical when you are greeted with a bonsoir and are instructed to bon appetit.

The cherry on top of the Paris sundae? Experiencing it all with our dear friends who so generously hosted us and acted as tour guides and pseudo-translators.

It’s hard for me to put into words how I felt about seeing one of my favorite people in the world, 6 months pregnant. I miss her so very much. But with friends who have taken up permanent residence in your heart as Jimmy and Ashley have with us, it’s easy to be apart because when you are together it is as if nothing changes.

Ashley and I still talk a thousand miles per hour every waking minute about every detail of our lives. And sometimes without explaining anything she understands me perfectly.

Paris.

It will always be the place Ryan and I got to escape from toddlerhood for a brief moment and just be two again. It will also be the place where I got to see our dear friends start to become three.

A place all its own. C’est l’amour.

4 Responses to “C’est l’amour”

  1. Mom February 18, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    I love this, although it almost makes me cry (just a little), What a treasure to visit such a grand place, to have such a special “couple” time (thanks, Ginger), and to reconnect with two special friends who will forever be close in heart. I love seeing things through your eyes. You capture so much more than a place, a time, or an event–you capture the essence.

    • Sarah February 18, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

      Thanks, Mom! That means a lot.

  2. emily February 18, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    sisterrr how do you do that to me every time! so emotional. so happy you got to see J&A. so happy you go to go over the atlantic!!

    • Sarah February 18, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

      Me too. XO.

Leave a Reply

