Perspective

20 Feb

Perspective.

We are in charge of our own.

So day after day, meal after meal, meltdown after meltdown, dish after dish, laundry after laundry, sweep after sweep it is me who can control how I feel about it.

Yes, it can be mundane, and that’s just part of being a grown-up. I allow myself to feel those moments of blah-ness. When I do, I accept those feelings as valid and normal. Then I try and move on trying to change my perspective. Maybe instead it’s day after day, hug after hug, game after game, giggle after giggle, adventure after adventure.

There are many things I do as a stay at home mom that I find completely gratifying. Not because anyone knows that I do them or says what a great job I’ve done – like making what Abigail considers to be the world’s best sweet potato fries.

But there are many things I do that I don’t particularly find rewarding – like keeping the toys organized or the laundry put away – that I just want someone to notice and say, WOW! Way to go, Mama!

But the reality is, it’s up to me to fine tune my perspective.

I’ve been guilty of looking at a situation and thinking,
“I wish I had time to do that.” or “It would be so much easier if…” or “They are so lucky.”

When in fact, I’m so lucky. I wanted to be able to stay home with Abigail and we are fortunate to be in a position where we could make that happen. Yes, there are things about this job that make me frustrated. I have to accomplish tasks I’m not super excited about. And sometimes it can be a little lonely. But, no job is perfect.

So perspective.

I get to keep my laundry going all day if I need to. I can go grocery shopping whenever it suits me.

But best of all, I get hug after hug, meal after meal, meltdown after meltdown, game after game, sweep after sweep, giggle after giggle, dish after dish, adventure after adventure…day after day after day.

Perspective Bonus?  Ryan lacks perspective about how many chocolate chip cookies have been swiped by the end of the day.  Or he lets me believe he does…xo.

Abigail’s Favorite Sweet Potatoes

1 large sweet potato, cut into fries

1 tsp olive oil

dash of salt and pepper

dash of red curry powder

1/4 tsp ground cumin

1/4 tsp ground coriander

Mix all ingredients in a  bowl.  Bake in a single layer for 20 – 30 mins (until soft) at 425.

10 Responses to “Perspective”

  1. Kelly February 20, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

    You hit quite a few nails on the head, my friend. Wish I could’ve read this around 8 am! Glad you are all doing great! Can’t believe how big Smush has gotten! XOXo to the fam!

    • Sarah February 20, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

      Hope you got to do some very gratifying things on your snow day! Can’t believe that’s the first one!

  2. Carole Calle February 20, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    Life is not a big event. It is a lot of little occurrences following one behind the other, like pearls on a string, stars in the sky, ripples on a pond. One day, when we are old, we realize we have a really beautiful necklace, that the stars are brighter than we ever thought they were, and that our ripples have touched shores we never knew were out there. Cherish each giggle, every meltdown, They are priceless and never to be replaced.

    • Heidi Roach February 20, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

      Carole. Well said! I am stealing to print off and put on my corkboard of things that touch me, or make me stop and go hmmmmm……. Thanks!
      And Sarah beautiful as always!
      Heidi
      (Sarah’s sister-in law’s sister)

      • Sarah February 20, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

        Wow. Just wow. Carole really does have an amazing way with words. Girl’s got some perspective, huh? Good idea, Heidi. I want to print it out, too.

  3. Kathy February 20, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    You go girl! It took me years to realize this!! But I have enjoyed my day after day for almost 15 years. AND if I am honest I am going to miss the day after day when she is off at college!!

    Thanks for the recipe for the fries! I have been wanting to make them. Mom tried them but she said hers did not turn out like yours!

    love you all!
    Kathy

    PS I love your red coat and boots! Looked like you should have been in a fashion magazine!

    • Sarah February 20, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

      EA will always look back at what a devoted mother you were to her. She will be full to bursting with all of the love you’ve filled her up with! That’s what it’s all about, right?! (Thanks about the coat! I got my boots especially for the trip and they were super comfy, too!)

  4. Emily February 20, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    I was hoping you’d post the recipe!! Lets swipe lots of ccc in march 🙂

    • Sarah February 20, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

      Oh you know it! Many ccc’s will be baked and swiped. XO 3 weeks!

  5. Amanda B. Hill March 8, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    I’m so sorry I live across the nation from you, because if I were a stone’s throw I’d come visit, sitting down for tea while the kids play. Change is hard. Friends make it easier.

    Amanda Hill

Leave a Reply

