Unforgettable

6 Mar

Last night I was watching Bethenny Ever After and Ryan was reading on his phone next to me. The episode was full of shorts, swim suits, and Bethenny’s baby soaking up summer. “Do you feel like Abigail is missing out sometimes?”

“What do you mean?” Ryan looked up.

“Like seasons, for example. Do you think it’s sad that Abigail doesn’t really get to experience the different seasons?”

“Look at how crappy* and crowded that beach is,” he said with a smile nodding to the scene on the television, “I don’t think she’s missing out. She’ll have seasons again one day and when she does she’ll appreciate them more.”

(*Clarification: The beach wasn’t crappy. My husband just knows I like it when he says stuff like that because it makes me feel better. He’s a keeper.)

We woke up this morning with a special treat on the calendar. Susie was coming over for breakfast and bringing her animal waffle maker, too.

We love waffles around here. We love Susie, too. And animal waffles with Susie was just too much – so the sky exploded with snowflakes…for two seconds.

Hank took a break from drooling to alert us that the Fed-Ex man was here. (Sorry about the barking and enormous black furball flinging himself at the window, Fed-Ex Man.) A package!

“Can I have a waffle now for being such a good boy and scaring that bad guy away?”

It was the 2010 photobook family album Ryan had painstakingly put together over many months. He combed through all of our photos from what was probably the biggest year of our life and arranged them in layouts to document our year.

It was beautiful and so much fun to look at, “unforgettable,” being the word Ryan picked to describe the year.

Ryan can be a man of few words, but he knows what’s up. I love that about him.

Afterwards, Susie and I took Abigail for a walk in her too big boots.

I have no idea how those boots were staying on.

I told Susie about the seasons thing.  She listened because she’s good at that.  I can’t remember what wise thing she said in reply because I was too busy noticing that I looked taller than her.  In real life, I’m not taller than Susie.  Not even close.

We might not have all the seasons, but we’ve got squishy ground and super-sized puddles – friends and each other.

Ryan’s right about this one. Abigail isn’t missing out. She isn’t sitting on the sidelines of life bummed about not wearing a bathing suit or shorts. She’s full on starting this game, making memories and having fun.

And you know what? So are we.

6 Responses to “Unforgettable”

  1. Kathy March 6, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    Love you!!! I am greatfull you keep me in on your life! We are so buzy in this season of Elizabeth’s life(Every weekend since the Jan 7th we have had some swimming event!) and I love that I can reflect and remember her enjoying life at Abigail’s age.

    She loved to run through Mike’s garden just to tickle her toes and we went on walks so she could collect her treasures(rocks). We figure out quickly she did not need a sand box but would have been happier if she had rock box!

    Love you all. enjoy all the eact coast family coming. Keep the blog and pictures coming!!!

    • Sarah March 6, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

      And through your comments I get to hear about those treasured memories of Elizabeth. It’s so fun for me to read about her and how your life was during “toddlerhood.” I miss you and love you guys so much.

  2. Emily March 6, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    I want a animal waffle with you guys!!!

    • Sarah March 6, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

      We may be able to arrange something for a certain “No Pants Wednesday” (no pants optional)

  3. Amanda B. Hill March 8, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    I think the problem here is that you were watching “Bethenny Ever After.”

    Did you know that I was on The Apprentice with her years ago? In my former reality star life? Seems like a million years ago.

    Amanda

    • Sarah March 8, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

      Haha! You are probably right about that. I didn’t realize that about your reality star past. Interesting!

Leave a Reply

