Generations

18 Mar

I don’t know how many generations we’d be – this special friendship between the women in two families.  It doesn’t really matter though.  More generations wouldn’t it make it any more fantastic than it already is.

There’s my mom with her nieces, Kathy & Becky, the best example I’ve ever had of friendship between women.  It’s supportive, honest when needed, and always kind and loving.  When I personally faced a rough friendship patch early in my teens it was Becky who picked up my bruised soul, bandaged my wings, and helped me fly again.  Becky and Kathy both have daughters that my sisters and I watched grow up, love to pieces, and are now at the point where every time I see them they are less like kids and more like friends.

Last week, two people in this friendship family tree came out to see us, which resulted in a double whammy of happiness.  My sister and Becky’s baby, Laura, flew out.

We curled up on the couch when it was rainy and talked girl talk.

We ate around our table family style.

We played in rain and snow.  So much snow.  So much rain.

We chased a very spoiled toddler.

And I got to see our beautiful Oregon coast in my very favorite way – through the eyes of a newbie.

And when they were gone I wasn’t the only one in tears.  Abigail cried too.  “Ehmy!  Waura!”

We cried big, fat alligator tears together and we were sad.  But I was happy, too.  Another generation, another blessed girl was being taken by the arms of many down a beautiful road of friendship.

8 Responses to “Generations”

  1. Carole Calle March 18, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    I have grew up with 11 cousins, all girls, still girls, still connected. Together, we are the threads that knitted the fabric of our lives. You are lucky to have that, too.

    • Emily March 18, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

      Love you all!!

      • Sarah March 21, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

        XOXO. Thanks for being not just a sister but a soul sister.

    • Sarah March 21, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

      Family is just knitted a little tighter, don’t you think? Makes for extra coziness.

  2. Kathy March 18, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    NOw I am crying. But I just spent an amazing weekend with your Cousin Becky. So glad you had your east coast visiters! LoLo ad Pips are next. LOVE the pictures! but not as much as all of YOU!!!

    • Sarah March 21, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

      I’m so glad you and Becky had a great weekend together! I love you both and wish you guys could come out one day!

  3. Kathy March 18, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    Pops ! sorry Mike!

  4. Joy March 20, 2012 at 3:20 am #

    So sweet. So beautiful.

Leave a Reply

