Leaping & Twirling

22 Apr

A lot of what I write about is based on my experiences of being a mother and surviving a big move. It gets pretty reflective sometimes because, as my dad says, I need to “give it away.” I write it, it’s out there, I move on for the time being.  Sometimes I take baby steps that make me feel like progress is never being made and other times I am leaping and twirling to new territory.

I did a little leaping and twirling this weekend. But before we explore that embarrassing mental image let me just put out a general disclaimer about our life here. We are happy. That’s the bottom line.

Sometimes I’m sad and emotional, sometimes I feel like Abigail is growing up unbelievably fast, lots of times I still call my girlfriends back home because I miss our easy friendships, and I still text my family “I miss you” messages on the regular. But everyone has their stuff to deal with, geography is just ours.

And our geography could be a lot worse.  I pedaled my bike along the water relishing in my total solitude thinking of absolutely nothing except.  I am not on vacation.  I live here.

We earn weekends like this one.  We endure months of total crap weather.  And when the sky clears and the air warms slightly you better believe Oregonians everywhere are out smiling and celebrating their good fortune.  

I rode my bike like a fool, smiling, stopping, backpedaling to snap photos.

If I would have been shouting it would have been something to the dorky effect of:

“Oh hello stinky fish cleaning station.  I love that I have a public fish de-gutting spot in my town!”

Or “I am afraid of cougars and I don’t care who knows it! But they won’t keep me from enjoying this trail!”

Or “Why yes I do know the answer to that!  Thank you, jetty, for changing the shoreline so I can ride my bike on land and not underwater.”

I’m not going to lie to you.  Our life is pretty incredible here.

I love that this morning when the guys went golfing, I got to have an impromptu play date at the beach.  I love that Hank’s floof smells like salty sea air long after we leave.  I love unrolling my jeans and having sand pour out onto freshly vacuumed floors.  Yes.  We are happy.  And I like to give that away, too.

Hope you had a great weekend!  I’m off to leap, twirl, ride my bike, and maybe even shout a little.

6 Responses to “Leaping & Twirling”

  1. Kathy April 22, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    Yesterday was beautiful! But today was an Oregon day been raining steady since midnight yesterday! Glad your day was pretty!

  2. Joy April 23, 2012 at 3:51 am #

    What fun! Great post!

  3. Heather April 24, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    You know what makes me leap and twirl? The thought of me getting to see you in Oregon in August! WOOP WOOP!

    • Sarah April 27, 2012 at 7:38 am #

      Definitely leaping and twirling about that!

  4. artoornstra April 25, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    Was so thankful Oregon gave us great weather last weekend. Wishing for it today as we have been cooped up inside again. That bridge in Newport is one of my absolute favorites!

    • Sarah April 27, 2012 at 7:38 am #

      I think we’ve made it through the worst of the winter. Even though we still have rainy days, we are having lots more sunshine! Hope you guys get out this weekend, too.

Leave a Reply

