Sugar and Spice

5 May

Abigail started climbing out of her crib, perching precariously on the front rail and giggling. We decided we’d give the “big girl bed” thing a go. It’s been pretty rough, a lot of getting up and down and a lot of getting on Ryan and I’s last little shriveled up nerve.

I know it will get better. Change is hard for everyone, no matter the age or situation.  I’m trying to be patient, but I haven’t always been. I have my parenting gold medal moments, calmly and rationally telling Abigail to get back in bed upwards of 500 times over the course of an hour or more. I have moments where I’ve had to bite the insides of my cheeks to keep from laughing as she runs up the hall giggling and acting like a fool.  And I’ve had moments where Abigail is punching the color changing buttons on her ladybug nightlight, opening and closing dresser drawers, and doing everything but going to sleep and where am I? Downstairs jumping up and down with clenched fists, silently screaming “JUST. GO. TO. SLEEP!”

It’s been about a week – a week of newborn-esque waking up multiple times a night. The difference is your well-fed, freshly changed baby doesn’t fall right back to sleep. It takes HOURS. I am tired, Ryan is tired, and Abigail is tired.

I think it was that exhaustion that made me take Abigail to lunch on Friday. Just the two of us.

“Want to go to Nana’s for lunch?” “Yes. Gramps?”

After clearing up the misunderstanding that we weren’t, in fact, meeting Nanny and Gramps to eat we had the perfect little daydream of a lunch.

Coloring Ireland.

Sipping ice water with green straws.

Abigail bobbing to the Irish music like always, “Dance, Mama.” So I did, bobbing along, too.

We counted windows, ate sandwiches with french fries dipped in too much ketchup, and crunched on tart apple slices.

“Mama get box.” We packed up the leftover half of a greasy grilled cheese and headed to the car holding hands.

“Careful, Mama, cars!” she said as we crossed the street together.

We buckled up and headed home. “Thank you, Mama. Lunch.”

And I wondered…when did you emerge out of your babyhood and change into my favorite girlfriend to have lunch with?  Did that happen with your exit from the crib?

I’m okay with that because while babies are fun and sweet, so are little girls.

Especially little girls who come home to take three hour naps with full tummies and visions of Irish dancers jigging in their heads.

And that is also worth jumping up and down and silently screaming about.

10 Responses to “Sugar and Spice”

  1. Kelly May 5, 2012 at 3:42 pm #

    Too precious! I wish I could’ve heard, “Careful, mama cars!” Too sweet and greatly missed back in VA!

    • Sarah May 5, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

      Miss you, too! I’ll be back in Lynchburg in June. Hope to SEE you then. :o)

  2. Mom May 5, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    What a fun outing! With two fun people, how could it be otherwise??!! Love hearing her new little phrases.

    • Sarah May 5, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

      Would have been even sweeter with a table that included you!

  3. Emily May 6, 2012 at 7:10 am #

    Aww She must feel so free!!! Can’t wait to see yall!!

    • Sarah May 6, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

      A little TOO free… ;o) Can’t wait to see YOU!

  4. Kathy May 6, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    Each new day brings you two closer ….it is precious! Next it will be shopping after lunch!There will always be the valley of the rollercoaster ride but oh how fun to climb to the top of the next hill! See you in about 5 weeks!!!

    • Sarah May 6, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

      Speaking of climbing to the top…I can’t believe our hot southern summer homecoming is only 5 weeks away! Jiggity jig!

  5. Everyday Mom May 8, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    Getting my kids to transition to a bed was probably the most stressful part of parenting toddlers! Hang in there!

    • Sarah May 9, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      Thanks! We are hanging…sometimes barely to our sanity. ;o)

Leave a Reply

