Virginia Summer

1 Jul

Among the many things we do as parents are those that exist for the sole purpose of sharing ourselves.  And like the mighty spring tide, everything seemed to line up perfectly for giving Abigail that glimpse into the inner workings of her mama.   This is where I’m from.   This is who I am.  Welcome to summer in Virginia.

I saw the rush of wonder at things that seemed foreign contrasted against the awakening of things we may be destined to share.

Gardening, Gardens, and Grandparents

Cucumbers were the only things ready in Pops’ Garden.

Our master gardener, fondly known as Dad, at the Butterfly Pavilion.  

Botanical Gardens, Richmond, VA

Swimming and “Swimmin Races”

We spent a lot of time in the world of competitive swimming growing up, a LOT. Will Abigail choose that route?  Ryan is hoping no.  I’m thinking maybe!

Cousins.  All swimmers.

Go Sharks!  

A little private lesson with my sister, former Virginia Tech Swim Team Captain.

Girl Talk

I got to sneak away for a little Lynchburg fun.

Joy and Georgie.  Friends don’t come any sweeter than these.

Douglas and Bruce – not talking or girls, just best friends.

Those one of a kind girlfriends that you feed your soul?  These are mine.

Back home.

My mom and sister.

June Birthday Girls

We had our share of meltdowns (pun intended) and scraped knees.

But mostly?  Mostly it was sandals and sun and love.  So much love.

Um excuse me, I was there too.  

Shawn, Emily’s Furbaby.

8 Responses to “Virginia Summer”

  1. Mom July 2, 2012 at 4:58 am #

    Great capture of a wonderful week (plus a few days extra!!). We shared “miles of smiles” too–enough that the memories still linger and those smiles can be spread all the way from here to there and back “until next time!” Love you!

    • Sarah July 7, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

      Thanks for taking the week to spend with us. We loved every minute!

  2. Kathy July 2, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    What fun we had!!! Looking foward to the next visit!

    • Sarah July 7, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

      And perhaps next time Abigail’s napping won’t conflict with swimming! ;o)

  3. Emily July 2, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    Love the pics but yalls visit even more! Mwah!

    • Sarah July 7, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

      Thanks for letting me hijack your camera!

  4. Life with Kaishon July 3, 2012 at 6:57 am #

    Oh my gosh! I LOVE your cat! : )
    What a fantastic vacation.
    Every bit of it made me smile : )
    Even the band aids!
    I wish I could still take my son to where we went on vacation when I was little.
    I thought my Grandma’s tin trailer was like the COOLEST place on the planet!
    I miss her so much.

    • Sarah July 7, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

      Thank you! It is actually my sister’s cat. There is something equally special about the stories we can tell our kids from the memories of our youth.

Leave a Reply

